Bizarre moment keeper catches ball outside box and doesn't even get BOOKED as fans say 'one normal day is all I ask for' | The Sun

FANS have been left perplexed after a goalkeeper caught the ball outside his area and didn't even get a yellow card.

The bizarre incident occurred in the National League as York hosted Boreham Wood.

35 minutes into the match with York 1-0 up, visiting keeper Nathan Ashmore stood a couple of yards outside his penalty area and casually caught a misplaced long ball.

Rugby League team York Knights also play at LNER Community Stadium and perhaps the stopper was confused by a faint line on the pitch left from the other sport and believed he was in his box.

Somehow, Ashmore was let off the hook by Michael Barlow with the referee not even getting out a booking.

York were instead only awarded a free-kick with Boreham Wood admitting in their match report that he "could have seen a straight red card".


Watch forgotten Man Utd star who started one game score stunning volley

Get £40 in free Bet Builder bets when you stake £10 on football with Paddy Power

Fans were left baffled by the situation, one said: "This is sensational stuff. Not even a yellow card.

A second reacted: "One normal day of the Vanarama National League is all I ask for."

More commented: "The key is to always look really confused after you've done it. Will always get away with it."

Another was more sympathetic, writing: "Don't get me wrong it's still a horrific blunder but the rugby lines doing him no favours there."

Most read in Football


Man Utd reveal Antony WON’T return to training after ex’s abuse allegations


Inside Jack Grealish’s quiet ‘£20,000’ birthday at £5,000-a-night log cabin


Man Utd misfit Jadon Sancho offered Dortmund escape route after Ten Hag rift


Man Utd must drop ‘abuser’ Antony just like Greenwood, says star’s ex


The game finished in a 2-2 draw.

It's not the only refereeing controversy from the weekend after a clash between Scunthorpe and Buxton was abandoned just minutes from the full-time whistle due to a waterlogged pitch.

And supporters were left as equally baffled by an official's choice to send off a Halifax player after both appeared to accidentally hit each other in the face.

Source: Read Full Article