Why was Ecuador's goal against Qatar offside in World Cup 2022 opener?
‘Five minutes into the World Cup, are you KIDDING?!’: Fans rage at Ecuador’s bizarre disallowed goal against Qatar for offside in the early stages of the tournament opener
- Fans were shocked after Enner Valencia’s goal against Qatar was ruled out
- Valencia thought he had scored but the goal was disallowed by VAR
- Fans took to Twitter to suggest that the decision over offside was incorrect
- Click here for the latest World Cup 2022 news, fixtures, live action and results
Supporters were left bewildered after Ecuador had a goal ruled out for offside in the early stages of the World Cup opener against hosts Qatar.
Enner Valencia thought he had scored the first goal of the tournament with a header after Qatar goalkeeper Saad Al Sheeb was left scrambling for the ball, but following a VAR check the effort was ruled out for offside.
However, many fans felt that the decision to disallow the goal was incorrect.
Enner Valencia’s goal for Ecuador against hosts Qatar was ruled out because of offside
Valencia thought he had put Ecuador in the lead but after VAR intervened it was disallowed
FIFA later released a graphic showing that Michael Estrada’s kneecap was offside in the build-up to the goal.
One Twitter user wrote: ‘Yes, that is not offside. 5 minutes into the World Cup, are you kidding?’.
Referee Daniele Orsato signalled for VAR to review the incident following Valencia’s goal
Another Twitter user wrote: ‘Me trying to see how that goal was offside’.
Another wrote: ‘Me looking at the TV screen trying to find the offside Equador player’.
One user added: ‘Where was the offside??’.
Another wrote: ‘How is this offside?’.
Another stated: ‘Unless i’ve missed something, that Valencia goal has to stand… No offside or foul on the keeper?’.
One added: ‘How is that even an offside? Unfair decision by the officials’.
Dion Dublin, on co-commentary for BBC Sport, was also confused by the decision to rule the goal out.
Dublin said: ‘Didn’t see that coming at all! Was it a foul I’d have said high-boot maybe? Can see he says offside clearly.
‘The Offside has come from… I can’t see where the offside has come from actually. From those pictures we’ve seen I couldn’t see an offside… I don’t know what.. Is there a push on the keeper maybe? A foul? Offside or foul the keepers come out late and timed it wrong got it all wrong, after that I don’t know why that’s been disallowed no idea at all.
BBC Sport co-commentator Dion Dublin was left confused by the offside decision
‘Stay on your feet, don’t give any freekicks away in your own half, and if you do get your keeper to stay on your line and trust your defenders.
‘Back in the day if anything like that went into the box and you heard your keeper shout you’re getting out the way because one of those keepers is going to take you the ball and everything else out. On that occasion the keeper got it wrong but got away with it.’
Share this article
Source: Read Full Article