Which countries celebrate Lunar New Year?

THE Lunar New Year is all about good luck and prosperity – which is something we all need after the last year.

The festival is celebrated by 1.5 billion people every year, but which countries mark the holiday?

What countries celebrate Lunar New Year?

Lunar New Year is rich in tradition and marks the first new moon of the lunar calendar.

It is celebrated in many east Asian countries, including China, Vietnam, Singapore and South Korea.

Typical festivities last for multiple days, sometimes as long as 15 days depending on the culture.

How is the Lunar New Year celebrated?

Lunar New Year kicks off with a reunion dinner with family.

Millions travel to visit relatives for the celebration, this is known as Chunyun – a 40 day period of travel surrounding the Lunar New Year.

Another tradition is for older relatives to give red envelopes filled with money to younger family members.

Firework displays and parades are a large part of the festivities as they are believed to ward off bad spirits – as are lanterns.

How is the date decided?

The Gregorian calendar, which is used by most cultures, does not keep track of the sun or the moon, whereas the lunisolar calendar does, and this is what decides when Lunar New Year is.

It can fall in either January or February each year and the date changes annually too.

It is also known as Spring Festival. In China the festivities are known as Spring Festival or Lunar New Year, they don't call it Chinese New Year.

Source: Read Full Article